Food Security Steph

Let's get to know each other a little better.
Food Security Steph

Hello,

My name is Steph and I am hugely passionate about the environment and our impact on it. I studied environmental sciences and through my work experiences I quickly figured out that I could have the biggest impact being in an educator role. Before having my own family, I worked with a non-profit organization in the Lower Mainland of BC where I had the pleasure of delivering a program to teach school-aged children where their food comes from through hands-on in-the-garden and in-the-greenhouse learning. In this role, I also coordinated many community gardens and really enjoyed witnessing how unique each 10 x 10 plot was and the shared comradery and sharing of knowledge (and food) between gardeners. I really believe that gardeners are the salt of the earth!

I have a huge passion for food security and lifelong learning. I joke that in some ways I was born in the wrong era as I love canning food, saving seeds, upcycling materials rather than buying new, and growing vegetables, and producing eggs and meat. I have been gardening in many spaces and sizes of gardens over the years but finally have a permanent garden space that was fully operational last year including raised garden beds (builders grade soil base so no choice but to go with raised), full sun, no irrigation or automation (yet) and amazing soil that I’ve built up through Hugelkulture, leaf molds, thermophilic composting on a large scale, vermicomposting on a small scale, cover cropping, green manure, chicken manure, and crop rotation.