Hungry Bin mixing?

Vermicomposting uses worms to create nutrient-rich worm castings that significantly improves overall plant health.
steve_miller

Hey do you guys recommend giving the top layer (few inches on top and into the soil material) of your hungry bins a little mix?

Im wondering if this will speed up the decomposing material on top if its buried a little bit.

Thoughts?
MForest

I’ve had my hungry bin less than a year, so I’m no expert, but I can say that the worms find their food as soon as they (and the food) are ready for each other. For me, it seems like I can add some nearly everyday and if it’s warm enough and the food is chopped finely enough, within a week the worms seem to have gone through what I put down the previous week. I’ve never mixed anything as there always seems to be worms within the top couple inches and I don’t want to hurt them! Andrew for sure can direct you better than me though.
jack oostenbrink
Site Admin

The only time I mixed was when I dug down and felt that everything was a little to mushy and going anaerobic a week after a feeding with quite a bit of greens. I worked the mush layer up a bit to let in some air and added some shredded paper...other than that I never mix
Andrew
Site Admin

steve_miller wrote: Sun 09-Jan-2022, 19:47 Hey do you guys recommend giving the top layer (few inches on top and into the soil material) of your hungry bins a little mix?

Im wondering if this will speed up the decomposing material on top if its buried a little bit.

Thoughts?
I do not recommend this unless you have overfed your bin and it has gone anerobic.
ElysseG

Half the time I blend up the food before I put it in my bin. It breaks down quicker and the worms love that
CoastRichard

thanks Steve for asking the same question I had on HB mixing. Couple more HB questions to add to this thread from HB 1-month newbie.